Picking Fights

The two main characters in Dragon Pendant fight with each other.  They fight a lot, actually.  It’s an important part of the dynamics in their relationship.  There are little disagreements, there are landmark battles, and in several cases these are key plot moments.  Writing arguments is easy; I’ve had my fair share of knock-down, drag-out screaming matches in my day, not to mention the multitude that I’ve imagined having with people who I can’t actually yell at.   The tricky part is setting up the fight.

Think about the last argument you had with someone.  You can remember the fighting part, right?  The yelling, the crying, whatever it was, but it’s hard to remember the build-up.  How did it escalate?  What little comment or gesture started it off?  I can start some scenes mid-spat, but sometimes I have to grow a fight.  It helps to see those interactions between the two, as well.

I’ve been picking fights between the characters for the last couple of days.  It’s a lot of negative energy, but I love the interplay between these two.

Leave a Reply

