A Foot/Brain Connection

I did a lot of hiking on my writer’s retreat.  I’ve mentioned before that a walk in the park can help me get past writer’s block.  I do a lot of writing in my head when my body can take care of a task on its own, such as waiting in line or pumping gas.  This works as long as I turn my attention to the story.  Apparently hiking is even more effective.

Every time I set out on a trail with the intention of hiking or walking, my mind immediately kicked in to writing mode.  Sometimes characters would just start the next section of dialog.  A few times entire blog posts wrote themselves in my head.  It wasn’t effortless, but it was as close as I think I’ve ever come.  The first full day of my retreat, I settled into a pattern of hike, write, rest, hike write, rest and managed to crank out a chapter of Dragon Pendant, several key scenes from the story, and ideas for seven blog entries.

If I can just manage to find a way to make this hike, write, rest routine stick when I get home, I’ll get a lot more writing done and drop a few pounds along the way!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate Ferguson Writes
    May 01, 2011 @ 14:14:19

    I can absolutely relate to this. I have spent hours immobile and without inspiration only to get up and move and find those latent thoughts swimming to the surface. Excellent advice and I’ll be more conscious of the importance of getting up and moving after reading this! Good luck getting your novel published. Hope it works out for you 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jarvis Cocker
    May 02, 2011 @ 13:22:33

    Contemplating your stories naturally distracts you from physical exertion. Definitely good to work out things in your head while exercising/hiking. Maybe consider getting a cheap digital voice recorder so as not to miss a thought?

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Creative Once Again « Butterflies and Dragons
  4. Trackback: Work Gets in the Way « Butterflies and Dragons
  5. Trackback: Time on my hands | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

