Not a big fan of writing by hand…

I am pondering my upcoming writer’s retreat trip to the woods.  (I’ll tell you that I am going, but not when I’m going, my standard response for travel.) For those who didn’t read about it when I came up with the idea, I’m going to stay in a pseudo-cabin in one of the fabulous Texas State Parks for a couple of days.  No tv, no Netflix, no internet, no dog.  The idea is that the lack of distractions will help me focus on writing.

The question I am pondering is preparation for writing.  I am definitely taking my laptop, but I do not know if I will be able to charge it at the park.  I believe there is electricity at my site, but what that looks like will be unknown until I arrive.  With the possibility of limited computer use, I may be doing a lot of writing by hand.  I’m really not a big fan of writing by hand, but if it needs to be done, it will be done.

The questions to resolve really revolve around what to print prior to my trip.  Should I take the entire manuscript to date for the new novel in a hard copy, in case I need it?  What about the research and background documents?   My mom’s philosophy is “better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it,” but it’s hard to justify printing every page of every related document when most of it will end up being a waste of paper.

Perhaps it boils down to this: review the manuscript and materials before I go, and take printed copies of the key documents I know I’ll need.  If something has to be left unfinished until I get home, that’s just how it will be.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hawleywood40
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 18:43:35

    Good luck – this definitely sounds like a good way to disconnect from life’s daily distrations and focus in on writing! I struggle like crazy with writing by hand. I can’t compose without the click-tap-click-tap sounds of a keyboard anymore, so I don’t know how I’d do without electricity!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

