Steps to a Story: Timeline Trouble

I’ve discovered the problem with injuring the main character of a story: it takes time to recover.  I’m going to pause for a warning here. There are spoilers in this post.  It’s not anything you couldn’t have predicted, but technically I’m giving some of the story away.  Consider yourself warned. 

Working on the next section of With Honor, I have run into a timeline problem.  Three things are making it difficult for me to get the next section to work.  First, even cleaned and stitched perfectly, it will take at least a month (probably more like six to eight weeks) for Matthew’s wound to heal properly.  Second, the army will want to catch Golden Wolf as soon as possible.  Third, I would like Matthew to be part of the catching of said antagonist.

Can you see the dilemma?  I need a plausible reason for the army officers to sit on their hands and simply watch Golden Wolf until Matthew is healed.  I know the role he plays in the scene, I know how to sketch out his recovery within the story, I’m just not sure how to delay the capture.

Of course, writing out the problem is making me think about it, and a few possible reasons have come into my head just in the time I have worked on this post.  🙂  You’ve just become a virtual version of my friends who let me talk out my story while they patiently listen.  Thanks!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A.M. Kuska
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 21:28:53

    I can think of all sorts of reasons why they wouldn’t be able to capture the Golden Wolf right away.

    1. They temporarily lose the trail.
    2. They attempt to capture the Golden Wolf and fail. So many soldiers are wounded they need time to regroup.
    3. The Golden Wolf retires to the safety of a powerful and influensial friends house…obviously beating down the door would cause a scene.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

