…then why are you reading my blog?

I have a suspicion that there are people who do not like me (as a pers0n) who are reading my blog.

Yes, there are people who don’t like me in the world.  This is a reality of being alive.  There are probably people who don’t like you in the world, too.  It’s something we have in common. 🙂

At this point you probably have one or two questions.  If you’re asking, “Why do you think these people are reading your blog?”, the answer is simple.  Every once in a while (including last Sunday) I get snarky comments that are clearly aimed at me as a person and not at my blog.  I am willing to approve comments that are negative if they will also help me grow as a writer.  I don’t approve ugliness written for the sake of ugliness, so you haven’t seen these comments.  You’ll just have to believe me that they exist.

The second question, the one that is bothering me, is “why are they reading my blog?”  The best I can guess, there are a couple of reasons that someone would read a blog written by a person they don’t like.  The first is to keep tabs on the author’s life.  My posts are rarely about my life and I work hard to keep stalker-ready details out of my writing, so I don’t think this is a useful source.   Another reason would be to keep track of the progress of my book.  Again, not really sure that someone who doesn’t like me would get a lot out of that, unless this person enjoys smirking at my continued unpublished status.

The only other reason I can think of is to post snarky, anonymous comments.  I don’t approve them, so I’m not sure how that enriches their lives.  The nastiness might make me pause for a moment, but a comment from some unidentified person is not going to have a high impact on my self-esteem or my mood. 

Really, the whole thing is kind of a mystery.  The person (or people) who are doing this are not impacting my life negatively, although on the positive side they have given me something to blog about today and they’re adding to the total visits for the day every time they read it.  To those of you who don’t like me, and those of you who do, you are welcome to keep reading!  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pam Parker
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 22:31:50

    Sorry you’re having to deal w/a snarky visitor — not cool. I hope it stops – but it sounds like you’ve got the right attitude. Keep writing. Don’t let any snarks stop you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. amkuska
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 18:09:33

    That’s sad to hear. It’s hard enough to be an author in this world, you don’t need someone tearing you down on your own blog too.

    Reply

  3. Leigh Townsend
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 22:53:00

    Thanks for your responses! I’m not letting it bother me; in fact I find the whole thing somewhat amusing. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

