Choreographing my post

I’ve mentioned before about my need to “get physical” with my writing.  I act out scenes, have mock sword fights, even yell dialog at my parrot (he doesn’t yell back).  Yesterday when I did my writing practice post, I took it a step further.

I danced it.

I decided that I wanted to write a dancing post.  I dedicated it to my sister, because she’s really the choreographer in the family, and dusted off skills I hadn’t used since college.  The laptop was positioned strategically on a table, document open.  As I created each move, I came back to the computer and described it.  The music was fictional, imaginary, because I was describing the movement rather than the entire dance.  I also left out the “counts” as we call them in dance (think “5, 6, 7, 8”) since by performance time most solo dancers are no longer counting as they go; rather, they are letting their muscle memory and their hearing work in harmony, matching moves to music as they have numerous times before.

I put a little more effort into yesterday’s post than usual, but I enjoyed the process.  I’m hoping that Whitney, at least, appreciated the post, and maybe you did, too!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. YerMom
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 06:53:13

    I loved the post! I could see it in my mind as I read it. Well done!
    LYM!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tonight the role of the dragon will be played by… « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

