Learning New Skills

Recently I taught a group of Junior Girl Scouts how to birdwatch.  Shortly after I passed out binoculars, the girls were pointing out birds and yelling out field marks so I could help them identify the birds.  It’s always fun to share a skill with someone, especially when the person learning is enthusiastic and excited. 

This is probably why my friend Jack wanted to teach me how to knit.  Knitting is an intriguing skill.  I’m not graceful at it yet (Jack laughs at how I wrap the yarn around my hand), there’s a mistake in nearly every row, and in less than 2 inches I’ve accidentally picked up a stitch twice. 

Knitting is something that’s easy to do while watching TV, and it can occupy my hands so I don’t stuff food in my face.  Unfortunately I can’t knit at the same time as many of the things I enjoy: reading, typing, and computer games.  I do enjoy it, though, and I’m hoping I can finish the scarf.

Writing is also a skill.  Getting in to the habit of creating, writing, revising, and improving a story doesn’t start easily.  Just like knitting, you won’t be graceful at first, and your first project will probably be messy.  Any new skill requires practice to improve.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jarvis Cocker
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 16:31:24

    You can’t write or knit while sleeping. Life is unfair. 😦

    Reply

  2. Tammy
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 22:06:46

    Wish you were closer to teach me birding…always been interested but never gotten into it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

