It turns out I am addicted to the internet…

At the beginning of my recent trip, I stopped overnight in a cheap hotel.  This made my drive longer overall but shorter on Monday.  I was disturbed to discover something about myself at said hotel.

I am addicted to the internet.

Now, I am not so addicted that I will pay the hotel for wi-fi access.  When wi-fi is free at most McDonald’s and Starbucks, I refuse to pay extra for internet when I paid for the room.  Therefore I found myself without internet.  I had cable (which I don’t have at home), a book, three stories to work on and a need for sleep, and I was still unhappy that I couldn’t check my email or my blog comments and stats.  It was an interesting realization to make, but on reflection I find that even when I am relaxing watching a movie at home I usually have my laptop on and near me.

I was excited to see free wi-fi at the McDonald’s where I stopped for lunch on Monday, and I readily took advantage of it to check WordPress and my email.  The first thing I looked up in the guest guide at the hotel for the workshop?  Internet availability.  (I am happy to say that my room did have free wi-fi access!) 

The first step to resolving an addiction is the ability to admit to it, right? 

The funniest thing about this whole story?  I almost decided not to even bring my laptop!  If I had left it at home, this wouldn’t have even come up.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 19:19:26

    Hi Leigh…

    Reply

  2. jannatwrites
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 21:33:31

    I’m addicted, too! If I’m going on vacation and I have my laptop, I WILL be on the internet 🙂

    Reply

  3. Shea Lewis
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 16:27:03

    What bothers me is when high-priced hotels charge you for internet access.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

