When “Write!” is on the to-do list

“Write” is almost always on my to-do list.  A typical weekend list includes things like groceries, clean the kitchen, and laundry, and right there with it is “write.”  (I usually put my to-do lists on my mirror in overhead marker, and erase things as they are completed.  Where do you put yours?) 

Tonight it is big, in CAPS, with two exclamation points next to it.  I have a trip looming during which I may or may not have internet access and time to write, so I want to get several blog posts ahead.  I also need to get the next section of With Honor done and posted for Sunday.  Yikes!

To make the evening easier, I’ve moved away from my TV, made a list of some ideas, and gotten started.  Here’s hoping I can hold out the writing blitz for a bit and knock out a couple posts (at least) before my brain runs out of steam!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Isabella Louise Anderson
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 21:25:41

    Thank you for sharing this! I am right there with you! WRITE is always on my list of things to do, but sometimes it never gets done.

    I’ve tried to solve this problem by setting deadlines for myself, and take this “job” seriously. (It was my husband’s idea). Over the passed few weeks, I have seen that I thrive on deadlines, as I have made each and every single one, sometimes even passing my goal for pages/words/chapters, depending on what my goal is at the time.

    I started writing what will be my first book in March of 2010, and am planning on finishing it by 30th birthday, March 18th!

    I have subscribed to this blog, and look forward to reading more from you!

    Happy Writing!

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Feb 25, 2011 @ 21:39:29

      I love deadlines myself, and I find that the added pressure of an expectant audience (on the blog!) helps, too.
      Good luck on finishing your book! It’s an awesome feeling to have that first one done, like now you can conquer any writing challenge.
      Happy writing to you, too!

      Reply

  2. S. Thomas Summers
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 22:38:44

    Just do it – as they say. Consider it breathing. Who would forget to breathe? And what a way to fill your lungs.

    Reply

  3. WES
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 13:00:55

    I can totally relate! Except that the word that is permanently on my “to do” list is “Choreograph!!” =P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

