Feeling All Alone in the World

We’ve all had those moments – those times when it feels like there is no one there for you, like you are all alone in the world.  They are our low points, our deep wells of sadness, when it seems as if nothing can comfort us.  I had one of those experiences last night.  A culmination of little things, silly by the light of day, weighed on me until finally I gave in and let them overwhelm me for a while.

Of course, very few of us are truly alone in the world.  Alone in the room we are in, maybe, or even in the city we live in, but there is usually someone we can call, text, or even chat with on Facebook if we really need them.  It only took a couple of texts from a friend and some enforced activity (cleaning and dancing to the radio) to lift me from my funk.

Being the “method” author that I am, I always like to use my personal emotional experiences to enrich my writing.  The main character in Dragon Pendant is in the perfect situation for the same to happen to her; she’s in an unknown place, learning unfamiliar things, with no friends or family around.  (At least, they aren’t her friends yet.)  I’m getting ready to add in a fight with her tutor/mentor, the only person she really knows, and that should throw her into a crazy emotional tailspin.  There is a fantastic resolution waiting for her after it, but she doesn’t know that yet.  My tiny emotional crisis is a great place to draw from in order to write a believable, large-scale version.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T.S. Bazelli
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 18:12:14

    Dancing always lifts me out of a funk too. I hope you’re feeling better now.

    I also try and draw from those feelings in the past. I don’t know if I’m successful but it helps the me get into the right frame of mind in a scene.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Feb 24, 2011 @ 22:59:20

      Dancing used to be my only way of handling my emotions – I danced a lot in high school and even did choreography in college. 🙂

      I agree about using past emotions to set the frame of mind for writing; I feel my characters emotions quite deeply when writing sometimes.

      Reply

  2. Tammy
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 18:29:18

    Awwww…sending you a hug and understanding. Glad that you can channel those feelings into your creative outlets.

    Reply

  3. stvsgrls
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 06:58:15

    Keep on dancing!

    Reply

  4. Nicole W.
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 08:57:39

    Hope things are looking better today. You are so lucky to have such an amazing group of friends and family. Here’s hoping that there is plenty of good music out there for you to dance to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

