Moving to the Other End of the Couch

I have found that I am a very routine person.  I get comfortable with the way something is, set into habits and patterns that work, and stick with them.  This is not necessarily always a good thing.

My couch is an awesome, comfy sofa with recliners at both ends.  If you were to walk into my apartment, you would quickly see that I live alone and it is arranged accordingly; there is one spot to sit in the entire apartment with a full, direct view of the TV.  🙂  Obviously this is where I always park it, even if I am not watching TV.  What can I say, it’s a force of habit.

When some friends came over to visit, my typical seat quickly became occupied.  I am not Sheldon Cooper, so I took another.  Much to my amazement – although it completely made sense – the cushioning on the other end of the couch is much fuller and more comfortable than my usual spot.  My rear end has not spent the last several months smashing it flat.  So when I came home from work today and decided to read, I paused before I got comfortable.  Why was I sitting in this flatter seat, when the other end of the couch was just as suitable for reading?  I moved. 

To my surprise, the far end was not only suitable for reading, the lighting was better.  Changing up my routine worked to my advantage.

What does this have to do with my writing?  Good question.

I’ve gotten into a set routine (perhaps a rut?) when it comes to my writing.  This is great for blogging; I have yet to miss a day in 2011.  However, it has not been so good for my fiction.  Authors who write about their process often suggest having a routine, so your brain knows when to be creative and the words start to flow at the appropriate time.  This sounds like a great idea, and I won’t totally discount it as it has worked for me in the past.  For right now, though, I need to light a little fire under my imagination. 

Now I just need to figure out how to do it.  Maybe a tweak to my weekend patterns will be enough; I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

