Wishful Thinking

Everyone is allowed to indulge in some wishful thinking from time to time.  I often daydream about the unlikely possibility that I am eventually able to be a full-time author.  I realize this is a pie-in-the-sky kind of daydream, as most authors are never that successful.  Honestly, I’d be happy to get my first novel published and go from there.  When I do allow myself to dream, I like to dream big.

I’d like to think that I would be happy doing nothing but writing.  I know myself too well, though, to really believe that could be true.  Writing is a reasonably solitary profession; yes, we may work together, discuss craft, and so on, but when you get down to the act of putting words to paper it is something you have to do alone.  I am not a solitary person.  I enjoy my time to myself, don’t get me wrong, and I start to get tired of people if I have too many things going on at once, but I like people.  I like to be around people.  I like to converse with others throughout my day.  Most of my friends and social life revolve around work and coworkers, which means that I would probably get very lonely very fast if all I did was write.

I would like to give it a try, though.  I’ve been thinking about a good writer’s retreat for a while; it will be much more effective if I am away from my home and obligations.  Perhaps I’ll use some of my vacation time to run away for a few days and write in solitude.  A few days without people shouldn’t be so hard, right?

Leave a Reply

