Should I Be Reading?

When I wrote the first draft of The Queen’s Butterflies, I made it a point to read only non-fiction.  I was trying to solidify my own voice and writing skills, and I wanted to avoid sounding like anyone else.

Now that I am (supposedly) writing the sequel and a short story at the same time, I’m wondering if I should put a similar ban on fiction into effect.  I started re-reading the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind recently.  These are books that suck me in to their world.  I’m not sure how easy it will be to fall back into Diaea and Molva once I start getting wrapped up in the Midlands and the Old World. 

I’ll give it a try for the first book of the series, and if it becomes a problem I’ll switch back to non-fiction.  Going without fantasy is not too big of a deal; I love good non-fiction almost as much as fiction, and it will give me an impetus and reward to finish With Honor and maybe even Butterflies 2.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kcleighton
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 18:21:53

    Hey Leigh,

    I say read, so does Stephen King in his book On Writing-A Memoir of the Craft. Good luck with both books. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.
    kcl

    Reply

  2. Josh
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 06:47:21

    Do you read any fiction that isn’t in the fantasy genre?

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 20:56:41

      I love Michael Crichton, and I do occasionally read other fiction books if they catch my attention. I do stick with fantasy most of the time. I also enjoy quite a bit of non-fiction, too, although I haven’t been in the mood lately.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

