Favorite Words

The PBS kids’ TV show “Word Girl” ends with a segment about favorite words.  Kids choose their favorite words and then explain why they chose that word. 

They have favorite words for lots of different reasons.  For some of them their favorite word is their favorite thing.  “My favorite word is horse, because I love horses.”  Some of the kids choose words that they say all the time, or words that have a fun or funny sound. 

I often choose favorite words because of their meaning or because they are obscure.  My favorite for a while was “pernicious,” and I often use the word “facetious” instead of “sarcastic.”  There isn’t one word I could point to as my current favorite word, which may simply be a facet of being a writer.  I appreciate many words.

Do you have a favorite word?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stvsgrls
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 08:27:49

    My favorite word is ubiquitous, although I don’t get to use it very often. I like it because it sounds cool and it means everywhere at the same time.

    Reply

  2. YerMom
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 08:56:40

    Volcanologist:) (Not even sure I’m spelling is right but I sure like to say it and hear it.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

