Absorbed in Reading

Shortly before Christmas, I bought myself a couple of new books.  Normally I wouldn’t buy stuff for myself with the impending holiday and its accompanying gifts.  However, these were books that no one knew I wanted or needed, so I figured it was okay to get them.

I started reading one of these within the last couple of days.  It’s Naamah’s Kiss by Jacqueline Carey, a book that I have never read by one of my favorite authors.   I’m enjoying it immensely.

One thing that happens to me when reading is total absorption into a book.  This morning when I started reading I was on page 94.  Somehow most of the day disappeared, although I did stop several times to get water and snacks.  When I set the book down this afternoon to get ready to meet up with a friend, I found that I had gotten to page 432.  There are 773 pages in the book, and I’m anticipating completing it before I go back to work on Tuesday.

It’s been a while since I’ve gotten totally wrapped up in a book like this, although it used to be a frequent occurrence.  I should do this more often.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole W.
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 11:06:54

    Sounds like a good book. I think that I might add it to my reading list.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Jan 04, 2011 @ 19:44:57

      It’s somewhat linked to her previous two trilogies, but I think you’d be okay without reading them. It is definitely worth it to try one of hers from the library before buying one; she’s got an interesting style that not everyone likes. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

