Christmas Alone

It doesn’t really feel like Christmas is almost here.  Maybe that’s because, for the first time ever, I will be spending Christmas alone.

Don’t feel too sorry for me; I don’t mind, and I’m looking forward to having an enforced idle weekend.  I also chose not to decorate my apartment (apparently plugging in the tree-scented air freshener doesn’t really count) so there is no holiday spirit in my personal space.

Back to this alone thing, though; I spent every childhood Christmas with my family (and our multitude of traditions).  Even when I went away to high school and then moved away to college, I was always home for the holidays.  My first Christmas after college I was jobless and living at home (haven’t we all done that?) and my first Christmas in Texas my family came down to visit.  After that, well, I had a significant other who was first boyfriend, then fiancée, then husband – all of which mean that he was part of my holiday.

As he is no longer part of my life, and I am not going home nor is my family coming to visit, the reality is simple: I am alone for Christmas.  Although alone may not be the right word.  I’m not exactly sure what word would be better.

I’m spending Christmas Eve with two of my good friends and all three of our dogs.  We’re probably going to get food, then drive around and look at Christmas lights.  I’m Skyping with my family Christmas morning to trade presents (I hope my package makes it on time!) and a friend and I are probably going to go get Chinese food for lunch.  I don’t know that you could truly define that as alone – it seems like a lot of other people involved in my holiday.  I am really looking forward to it, and to some down time (and writing time) during the weekend.

Even with all of that, it still doesn’t feel like tomorrow’s Christmas Eve.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jedo
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 01:27:41

    Hi Leigh! I came across your post as I was looking for my own post about family and Christmas. Anyway, I can’t help but feel sad that you won’t be with family this Christmas. That would be unimaginable for me, since I’ve spent all of my Christmases with family, and I probably will, so long as I live. It’s sort of mandatory for me, and the rest of my relatives too, I realize just now.
    On the other hand, I do agree: you really aren’t spending Christmas alone this year. And with the power of the almighty ‘interweb’, you’ll be Skyping with your family to trade presents! This is probably the first time I’ve heard of that being done.
    And really, I thought I’d comment, even if it’s just to say happy holidays, from one blogger to another. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  2. Nicole W.
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 11:54:54

    Chinese food on Christmas actually sounds amazing. Between Thanksgiving and Christmas, I get pretty burned out on turkey. Hope you have a great time with your friends (and the dogs, too).

    Reply

  3. Trackback: A Merry Dragon Christmas! « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

