Steps to a Story: “Gilded Cage”

Wow, a Steps to a Story post!  I haven’t done one of these in a while…

With holiday errands, travel craziness, work schedule oddities and other personal fun stuff, I have not really worked on With Honor in a while.  In fact, I haven’t really thought about it since I got back from Thanksgiving vacation.  With Bonded about to end (today’s section is next-to-last) it’s time for me to start scheduling my next story on Serial Central.  In order to give me a little time to get With Honor ready, I’ve decided to revise “Untitled” which I am going to call Gilded Cage.

An interesting difficulty has come out of having Gilded Cage follow Bonded.  When I was a teen (right before college, when I hadn’t yet had a real boyfriend) I had a weird premonition that someday I would marry a guy named Chris.  I have no idea where it came from or why, I just remember having that thought come to me  out of nowhere.  Of course, I’ve never even dated a guy named Chris, so it’s been wrong until now.  🙂  The result of this is that I tend to use that name a bit more than others in stories, and the male protagonists in Bonded and Gilded Cage are both called Chris.  I’m definitely going to need to rename the main character of Gilded Cage, as his is easier to change.  (Unlike Bonded, it’s not related to Butterflies nor is it already published to the blog.)

I’ve found some drive to write today, so hopefully I can get through the revision of Gilded quickly and still have some writing energy left to start With Honor again.  Hopefully I’ll have a few more Steps to a Story posts in the near future.  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh Townsend
    Dec 19, 2010 @ 17:52:30

    This story has a very different voice than my usual writing, which is making revisions interesting. It should have a different voice, as it is written first-person by the main character. I’m intrigued to see how people respond to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

