Steps to a Story: Out of Order

I’ve mentioned before that while I prefer to write in chronological order, it doesn’t always work out that way.

This has already happened once while writing With Honor, and I am certain that it will happen again.  Last night I was inspired by a conversation that took place in my head.  This conversation consisted primarily of Matthew’s declaration of his intentions to Charlotte.

Now, at the spot I am in the story, he hasn’t even met Charlotte, so this is clearly out of order.  As I know what happens, however, it is allowable for me to jump ahead and work on that scene.

The only problem I occasionally encounter when this happens is the need to re-write a scene when I finally get there.  I don’t know the characters as well now as I will by that point, and some of their comments and actions may not fit with their personalities when we get to that scene.  I’ve never had to scrap a scene completely, though; usually it just needs some tweaks.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jannatwrites
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 21:28:02

    I usually write in chronological order, too. I can see how scenes written out of order could need polished, though.

    Sounds like things are falling into place in this story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

