Steps to a Story: Great Lines

Yesterday I posted about being an auditory learner and hearing conversations between characters in my head.  Sometimes all it takes for me to get into writing a scene is a great line.

Tonight I had a couple of writing-inducing comments from characters come to me while I was ‘writing’ in the shower.  One was a declaration from Matthew to Charlotte that caused me to have to write a bit out of order.  (More on that in a later post!)  The other was from a character that is so minor he doesn’t even get a name.  He is simply one of the villagers Matthew is approaching for supplies for the army company.  I needed to get Matthew out to Charlotte’s family’s farm, and I decided fresh eggs was a great way.  That lead to this comment, which popped into my head out of nowhere.  Here it is, straight from the story:

“Go see old man White on the edge of town.  His wife Sarah’s got a fondness for chickens; always trying to find someone to take eggs of his hands.”

His wife’s got a fondness for chickens.  I don’t know where it came from, but I love it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

