Going to the Movies

I have mentioned in a previous post that I don’t watch movies based on books that I like, although I didn’t explain the reason for the rule.  At this point, with all my complaints about consistency, it may already be clear.  Here’s the story. 

My friends all wanted to see Jurassic Park when it came out – I was in junior high.  My mom was searching for a way to get me interested in adult fiction, so she seized on this opportunity.  I had to read the book before I could see the movie.  It was quite a successful venture: I ended up falling in love with Michael Crichton’s work and spent the summer checking out every book he ever wrote.  (I played that game again later – in high school – when I discovered Mercedes Lackey.) 

This did, however, lead to the rule.  I saw the movie.  I would have liked the movie had I seen it out of the context of the book.  However, I spent most of the movie saying things like “the girl is the one who likes dinosaurs, not the boy” and “What?  That’s not how they figured out the dinosaurs are breeding!”  Needless to say, I was disappointed in the movie and the lack of cinsistency with the book.

Thus the rule was born.  It started as “no movies based on Michael Crichton books” and then grew from there.  (I enjoyed the Lord of the Rings movies, but I also didn’t finish those books and it was years between reading and watching.)  I did make one exception: I saw the first Harry Potter movie when it came out.  Guess what?  Disappointment again, this time based on the things that had to be omitted, so the rule was reinforced.  This has led to  more than a few arguments, with friends, family, and significant others who really wanted to see movies that I refused to see.   My apologies, but you knew my rule when you started.  🙂

I have since seen all of the Harry Potter movies, most of them on DVD.  I found that distance from when I read them (as in Lord of the Rings) makes it much easier to enjoy the films.  I went to see the most recent one last night; now I am impatient for the last one.  Of course, I am also impatient because I want to re-read the books, and I can’t do that until I have seen the last movie.

Leave a Reply

