The Most Boring Thing I Ever Wrote

In May of 2009, I graduated with my master’s degree.  As you may know, this type of degree usually requires a master’s thesis to go along with it.  I completed a thesis, including presenting and defending it, but that was not the end of it.

My thesis advisor warned me during the writing process that a thesis is the most boring thing you will ever write, and it’s true.  I am passionate about the subject of my research, and I can talk at length about it when asked.  However, the document itself is 100+ pages of research-speak, liberally sprinkled with charts full of data.  Not really a page-turner.

Now it has come back into my life.  In November (which is rapidly approaching) I will be presenting said research at a national conference.  This means that I get to once again familiarize myself with the material.  You guessed it; I now have to read the most boring thing I ever wrote.

After I finish, I might read Butterflies again.  It’s definitely not boring…  and I wrote that, too.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 17:57:56

    Haha, I’ll help you if you want. I’m pretty passionate about the subject of your thesis as well… but former debaters are good people to study with since they can see both sides to just about everything. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Sunday Reading « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

