Quoting Books

I like quotes, especially from books.  The only problem becomes when I don’t stop to write them down and then can’t find them again when I finish the book.

There is an awesome quote from one of the Sword of Truth novels by Terry Goodkind about not giving up.   The main female character is remembering something told to her by her father about fighting with everything you have.  I think it is in Blood of the Fold but I have not been able to find it again.  (Perhaps this means it is time to re-read the series?)  I had it posted in my room in high school, but lost the ‘poster’ and now can’t re-quote it.  If you know where to find the quote I am referring to (at least book, preferably section/page number), please let me know!!

Another favorite quote is from an out-of-print book called Winter of Fire by Sherryl Jordan.  This one I can find – it was my favorite book for a long time and probably the first real fantasy book I read.  I’ve read it more times than I can remember.  Here is the quote: “‘No matter what happens tomorrow,’ she whispered, ‘they can never take away today.'”

I think favorite quotes change as your life changes.  The Winter of Fire quote was my favorite during junior high, a time when I was tormented and outcast and dreading what every school day would bring.  The Sword of Truth quote was a favorite in high school and college – never give up and keep fighting are appropriate at those ages.  Of course, they are still relevent to my life now.  🙂

My newest quote is from Ursula K. Le Guin’s The Farthest Shore.  It is definitely an adult-type quote, reflective and aware that life is not never-ending.  Here it is:  “And though I came to forget or regret all I have ever done, yet would I remember that once I saw the dragons aloft on the wind at sunset above the western isles; and I would be content.”

What is your favorite book quote?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Memorable Lines « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

