Finding the Funny

I have friends who are naturally funny.  They don’t have to work at it; they simply talk and I giggle.  Jack, who has given me a sneak peek at his blog, makes comments about himself or others and I laugh out loud.  My sister Whitney has an uncanny ability to make me laugh hysterically.  I think she enjoys it – she thinks my laugh is amusing, and it makes her laugh.

I’m not inherently funny.  The humor that appears in my writing is mostly accidental, and scenes that I envision as funny often don’t end up that way for readers.  While humor is not necessary for fantasy, it is always nice to laugh.  If you can laugh with a character, it’s like laughing with a friend; it becomes a bonding moment. 

I might make this my next big writing challenge, once Burden is done.  I need to figure out how to write humor.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. YerMom
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 08:38:44

    Wow! That is a hefty goal. . . and don’t take that personal, I just think writing humor would be very hard because everyone’s idea of funny is so different.
    However, I also believe you can do anything you set your mind to do and do it all so well. LYM!!

    Reply

  2. WES
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 10:18:39

    “Is that chocolate cake?”
    “No it’s a baked potato”

    LOVE YOU!! 😀

    (And I do really enjoy making you laugh….)

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Oct 08, 2010 @ 16:52:55

      That’s one of the two moments that popped into my head.
      The other involved stuffing grapes in our mouths and making faces. You know, the time when mom said something along the lines of “Only you can turn your sister into a drooling idiot.”

      Reply

  3. Jack
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 16:36:48

    Haha, well first of all, thank you.

    Second… I don’t really try to be funny, but I’m glad it can help make your day. I just seem to lack the brain-mouth filter so everything I think just comes out. Sometimes it even passes through a bitch magnification system… maybe we just need to get yours tuned up? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

