Leaving Gaps

I have a tendency when I write to leave gaps.  Gaps of time when nothing major is happening, gaps of action with a quick look-back in the next section, etc.

I’ve got a couple in Burden – moments when the new section doesn’t start where the last ended, but a day, a few days, or even a few hours later.  I find these are easier for me than trying to fill in the gaps.  I don’t have to describe everything that happens when most of it is irrelevent to the plot.  My brain works in skips and hops, so it generally doesn’t bother me when other authors do this.  Fantasy is also a genre with a lot of intertwined, character-hopping, multi-plotline books, so I’ve been well trained to keep many threads straight.  Perhaps it is a self-renewing loop: readers of fantasy tend to be writers of fantasy, after all.

Does this bother you?  Would you rather get a whole section of a story with one important plot point, simply for continuity, or are you okay with skipping ahead if I give you the needed piece you missed?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. T.S. Bazelli
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 17:50:41

    I don’t mind skipping around. If nothing interesting happens in a period of time, then I will leave it out of my writing and pull the “And then… two weeks later…” trick.

    It can get confusing if too much of it happens, but I haven’t noticed it as a problem in your serial so far. 🙂

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Oct 07, 2010 @ 18:38:07

      I’ve managed to keep Burden from basically one point of view, but my novel can get a little muddy. I think I’ve streamlined it in the second draft, but that is the complaint I here most often.

      Reply

  2. Barb
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 10:16:37

    I think telling the boring bits is… boring. I skip uninteresting periods, either hours or days or years. If one sentence is enough to tell you that nothing happened, why waste a paragraph – or an entire chapter of nothing? 😉 If it doesn’t move the story forward, it’s useless, remember? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

