Breakfast with Woodpeckers

Hmm…  I thought I published a post yesterday about trying to decide if I should go camping.  My apologies, apparently I saved the draft instead of publishing it.

I did decided to go camping, blog post or no, and the dog and I just got back.  I’m glad I went (although a few times last night I regretted bringing the dog); I hiked about 4 miles total, enjoyed lovely cool sleeping weather, and had breakfast surrounded by trees full of woodpeckers.  (Woodpeckers are my favorite group of birds.  Since birds are my favorite group of animals, you can imagine how much I enjoyed the company).  Of course, I have returned a little sunburnt, a lot tired, and fairly stinky.  A shower is next on my to-do list.

The benefit of hiking, eating, and sleeping in nature alone (the dog doesn’t talk, so he doesn’t count) is the freedom for my brain to work on story-creating.  When I am stuck, a walk or hike usually helps me dislodge a few ideas.  I wasn’t stuck this weekend, but I did come back from my jaunt in the woods with a better picture of the next part of Burden.  In fact, it isn’t just a picture; I have the first several paragaphs bouncing around word-for-word in my head.

The next thing after shower on myto-do list is to write.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 19:25:45

    That’s cool. After a couple years of debate, I form thoughts and arguments by talking to walls… if you ever see me doing that, know I haven’t gone completely insane. Just the normal amount, 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rochelle Joseph
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 15:17:56

    Sounds absolutely heavenly. Getting out into nature is a great way to clear your mind (even if it exhausts your body) and open up creativity.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:00:43

      I’m glad I realized this technique for un-sticking relatively early on. It may not always work, but for now it is a great resource.
      Now we need to get other people out in nature to do the same thing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

