Dreaming of Mice

And now, for a brief moment of randomness…

Last night I slept with my bedroom window open, for two reasons.  One, it’s finally cool enough in the evenings here in Texas to get away with it.  Two, my a/c was non-functional, which made it somewhat necessary.  (Thanks for your concern; it’s working again now.)

I like to sleep with my window open, except for a few problems.  I don’t fall asleep well unless it is dark in my room.  Having the window open of necessity means having the curtain pulled to one side, which allows the light from outside to flood into my space.  Unfamiliar sounds wake me up in the middle of the night, and these also intrude when the window is raised.  I’ve figured out how to adapt to these situations, for the sake of a cool breeze while I am sleeping.

Last night I had a strange dream, which I also attribute to the open window.  I dreamt that mice had climbed in the window and were running around my cluttered (in the dream – not in real life) bedroom, playing with my dirty laundry and bothering my dog.  They didn’t bother me, but I didn’t particularly want them in my house, either.

There is a surfeit of research and theories about the meanings of dreams; I’m not sure I care what the mice meant.  I just hope that tonight, when I leave my window open again, I will have pleasant, relaxing dreams that I can’t remember when I wake up.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 19:34:50

    I’ve woken up freaking out because I swear that I hear mice scuttling about. It usually takes me about 5-10 means of fevered searching and freaking out to realize that yes… mice were scuttling about… IN THEIR CAGE. Then I just feel dumb…

    Reply

  2. Leigh Townsend
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 14:27:57

    Ok, that’s funny. And also another reason to not have bird food as pets. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

