Developing a Routine

I am finally (mostly) setttled in my new apartment, so now it’s time to start developing a routine.

I’ve established a couple already, mostly related to my dog.  I have to walk him at least two, usually three, times a day unless I want to clean up an accident.  Those times are pretty much set.  I’ve also got a kids’ show on PBS that I now make it home in time to watch.  I wouldn’t call it a routine, so much as if I’m home and not busy I turn it on.  🙂  I know my friend Kelly will ask: it’s Fetch! with Ruff Ruffman. 

One habit that I want to develop is a writing time.  I’ve managed to keep up with the (nearly) daily posts here, but the times that I post are fairly scattershot.  Starting next week I’ll try to set a time that I blog and write.  Maybe if it becomes enough of a habit my brain will kick in the creative juices at exactly the right time.  (That’s the advice that the authors who write about writing give you, and it goes along with another favorite of Kelly’s.  “Fake it ’til you make it.”)  I’ll let you know how it works out.

I “wrote” in the swimming pool today – remember, I create story away from the computer – so I’m planning to work on another section of Burden once I am finished here.  A draft of next week’s section is already written; this will be the following week’s section.  Look at me getting ahead of schedule!  I hope you’re enjoying the story, even if you haven’t read Butterflies. 

Now I just need to start querying again…  *gulp*

Leave a Reply

