Multitasking

I have alwyas been bad at small-scale multitasking, and good at big-scale multitasking.  It sounds contradictory, but hear me out.

Small-scale multitasking is watching TV while doing homework, talking on the phone while folding laundry, etc.  I get very absorbed in TV, movies, and books, so I can’t enjoy those while doing something else that requires focus.  If it doesn’t require focus (like laundry, solitaire, or washing dishes) than I can sometimes pull it off, but I usually do better if I stick to one task at a time.

I can, however, manage multiple large projects at once.  I started my first novel while taking two classes for my Master’s degree, and successfully completed all three.  This big-picture multitasking doesn’t require splitting focus; rather, it requires splitting time and priorities, and I am suited to that.  In fact, I prefer to have multiple projects at once.  It makes life interesting.

Having said that, this blog entry is actually a warning and a preemptive request for forgiveness.  I am working on 4 major projects right now, besides this blog, and many of them have looming deadlines.  I apologize in advance if I miss a day of the blog – I am hoping to get the projects done while still finding time to write about the writing process, but it may not happen every day.

Please realize that I am working on other things, not simply skipping the blog for convenience or lack of something to say.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jannatwrites
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 16:58:34

    I think you’ll be forgiven. I’ve never been able to do daily blog entries myself! Just don’t put too much pressure on yourself; writing’s supposed to be fun, right? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jack
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 18:40:47

    Hey, I still don’t even have a blog… I don’t have much room to say anything. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: But Juggling Makes Me Tired… « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a comment